Position Permissions Explained

Position Permissions Explained

Position Permissions are the permissions set on a position level. Permissions control the level of autonomy given to users for that shift.

The positions permissions are displayed like this:

Unrestricted, Restricted, Closed

The three main categories of position permissions are Unrestricted, Restricted, and Closed.

Unrestricted = Any user can claim or request a shift in this position, regardless of their qualifications

Restricted = Only a user who is qualified can claim or request a shift in this position

Closed = No one, regardless of qualifications, can claim or request a shift in this position. An admin must manually fill any position with this permission

 

User Qualifications / Approved Positions

In order for users to qualify for a certain position, the position must be added to their “Approved Positions” section within their user settings.

Once a user has a position in their “Approved Positions” field, they’ll be able to claim or request positions with the “Restricted” permission.

 

Locked, Unlocked

The two subcategories of permissions are locked and unlocked.

Locked = Users have to request a shift and get it approved by an admin before they occupy that position

Unlocked = Users can claim a shift and they will occupy that position immediately

 

Permission FAQs

Changes will take effect immediately. From Unlocked to Locked: Positions will now need to be requested instead of claimed Anyone who already claimed the shift will still occupy that position From Locked to Unlocked: Positions can now be claimed instead of requested All requests associated with this positions will be closed From Unrestricted to Restricted: From now on, only qualified users can claim or request this position Anything in the past will not be effected From Restricted to Unrestricted Qualifications are no longer required to claim or request a shift Any requests that have been made by unqualified users will be closed From anything to Closed: Anyone who has already claimed a shift will not be effected Any requests sent for this position will be closed From now on, nobody can claim or request this position; admins must fill it manually From Closed to anything: Starting immediately, the new permissions will be in effect Nothing in the past will change

Related articles